Corporate Safety Award – Share Your Good News!

In a year where we have had to work from home, change our daily routines and hear bad news after bad news regarding rising COVID-19 numbers … wouldn’t we all like to hear some GOOD news?

2020 has been a challenge for everyone and every company. We have had to shelter in place, furlough employees, shut down stores, change our “normal” ways of life and pivot to new strategies and lines of business. And boy did some of you pivot! Many of you stopped your traditional production and produced much needed face masks, face shields, respirators and testing swabs during the pandemic. Companies have shown sheer tenacity and resilience during a time when America needed you the most!

For 26 straight years, Wisconsin Safety Council has been celebrating Wisconsin company’s successes by honoring them with our distinguished Corporate Safety Awards. Now is your chance to tell your story. These awards highlight exemplary companies who, not only have great safety records, but innovative technologies and robust programs to keep their employees healthy and safe from harm.

Wisconsin Safety Council is accepting nominations for our 27th Annual Corporate Safety Awards from January 1 through February 5. The nomination involves a two-part phase process – but do not let that intimidate you!

Phase I – It is EASY, you have already done the work by completing your OSHA 300 log. All you need to do is transfer those statistics into our Phase I form. That is it! Our committee reviews your stats by comparing them to the national average based on your NAICS. Finalists who make the cut move to Phase II.

Phase II requires delving into your specific safety programs, unique processes and core values. By completing a ten-page subjective report, you will answer specific questions regarding training, employee engagement, and highlight why your company deserves the recognition. This is your opportunity to emphasize the investments you made to ensure safety is your top priority. A 32-member judging committee, made up of safety professionals, reviews the reports and selects winners within three types of organizations per NAICS, which are further sub-divided into three size categories. The nine winners will be unveiled during our annual virtual Safety Conference in April.

Why Apply?
• You believe in safety excellence
• Recognize your employees for their dedication in making Wisconsin a safe state to work and play
• Be an industry leader; showcase your major accomplishments to your future workforce in this great state
• Join the influential group of past winners
• Completing the process is a great tool to benchmark your standings; assessing areas of improvement

For more information on this award, please contact Barb Deans, Associate Director at WSC, or visit our website

Author: Barb Deans, WSC Associate Director

Wisconsin Safety Council